The Scribes


MAYOWA TIJANI: He is a practicing journalist, multi award-winning public speaker, and a 2017 Chevening scholar. He’s a graduate of the University of Ibadan and the Nigerian Institute of Journalism, Lagos. He is a staff writer at The Cable where he runs a weekly column and his works have been quoted by Intl Business Times, Bloomberg and BBC.

SAMUEL OSHO: He is an award-winning writer, a public speaker and a professional mechanical engineer. He is the creative director of Kreative Diadem – a platform for poets and writers. You can find some of his works on TheCable, YNaija, ScoopNG, The Manitoban, WRRNG amongst many others. Asides writing, his creative side expresses itself via photography and website designs.


ADEOBA GBENGA: Gbenga graduated from the University of Ibadan with a B.A in CLA. While there, he was a campus journalist. As a columnist with the Courtroom, he co-won the UCJ and Roulette Poetry Prizes, and was runner-up in the Okigbo Poetry Prize. He has an avid interest in literature, communication and creative industries.

OREDOLA IBRAHIM:  Ibrahim is a 2016 graduate of Law from the University of Ibadan. At the Ivory Tower, he moved up the ranks to become the UCJ President in 2015. He edits an online media platform – ThePageNG and currently serves his fatherland in the Ministry of Justice, Asaba, Delta State. He co-wrote the Courtroom Column with Gbenga Adeoba between 2014 and 2015. He is a man of many sides, ranging from poetry to entrepreneurship.


KANYINSOLA OLORUNNISOLA: He is a poet, essayist and writer of fiction. He is a final year student of the Faculty of Arts from the University of Ibadan and managing director at Kreative Diadem. His experimental works have appeared or are forthcoming on Brittle Paper, Kalahari Review, Bombay Review, Lunaris Review, African Writer,, Authorpedia, Kreative Diadem amongst many others. He was the 2016 recipient of Albert Jungers Poetry Prize.

ADEBAJO ADEKUNLE: He is a multi-award winning writer, essayist and public speaker. He is on the verge of clinching his LLB degree from the University of Ibadan. In 2016, he won the National Higher Education Foundation Essay Competition and the second edition of the Fisayo Soyombo Inter-university Essay Contest. His works have appeared in The Nation Newspaper, The Guardian, ThePageNG, Transverse amongst many others.


ASUDEMADE HABEEBULLAH: He is a 200 level student of the Faculty of Law, University if Ibadan. He loves reading and appreciates creativity for the beauty of it. He is an award winning public speaker, essayist, poet, journalist, polemist among other fortes. To state a few, he won the 2016 Jaw War Best Rookie, he won the 2017 SCOLA Inter-Faculty Oratory Contest, he was the 2nd runner up of 2017 NIMASA Essay Competition. His works have featured on Writers Space Africa Magazine, AFAS Review, among others. Second to God, he believes in the might of the pen.

AKINPELU YŪSUF: He is an essayist, rhetorician, budding Journalist and a darling to some friends. He loves crime and investigation – in books, movies and in the real sense of the word. After Allaah and family, Journalism is all he dreams of. He currently defends the First Runner-up Award of the Maiden SRC Essay Contest. In 2018, he was crowned the winner of the 4th TMC National Essay Competition. A year is all that separates him from bagging a B.Sc pedigree in Statistics from the prestigious University of Ibadan. His works have featured on ThePageNG, Transverse, Edugist and a handful of others.