The top two prizes of the 4th ‘Fisayo Soyombo Intervarsity Essay Contest have gone the ways of two Courtroom Scribes. 

Asudemade Habeebullah⁩ and Ajiboye Oluwadamilare scooped the first and second prizes, edging Olaniyan Oludara to third place. All top three awardees are students of the University of Ibadan’s Faculty of Law.

The winners were announced at the 2019 Union of Campus Journalists Luncheon held in Bello Dome, University of Ibadan, on Saturday. 

While Asudemade Habeebullah⁩ is a fourth generation scribe, Ajiboye Oluwadamilare is a fifth generation scribe.

Habeebullah⁩, being the winner, got a plaque and a cash prize of ₦200,0000 while Oluwadamilare went home with  ₦150,000. The second runner up got ₦100,000.

Honourable mention and certificates were also presented to Theophilus Alawonde, UI; Mobolaji Abimbola, UI; Joshua John, UI; Abibat Orimoyegun, UNIBEN; Adegbite Joy, BOWEN; Ubah Chigozie, UNILAG; Anzaa Msonter, Benue State University; Ayodele Habibulah, UI; Asaolu Adewola, UI; Obike Victoria Ngozika, UI.

Entrants wrote on the topic “The dire need for genuine national development: Is revolution the solution?

The top three entries are published here.

Of the first three editions of the contest, two were won by courtroom scribes — ‘Kunle Adebajo in 2016 and Kayinsola Olurunnisola in 2017. The duo are third generation scribes.